Day 69: Trans Siberia – Ulan Bator>Beijing

Today we continue to our last leg of our Trans Siberian journey, leaving Ulan Bator, we will be taking the train to Beijing, which will take about one day.

I still had some unsent postcards so I asked our guide where I could post my postcards, she advised me to look around in the train station at Ulan Bator but when I asked her what colour or what the postbox looked like, she said she didn’t know because she’s never seen one. WTF!!!???

Anyway, at the station I managed to find a post office but there was no postbox to be found. Just as I was scratching my head about how to post my postcard, a local man pointed at the sign which said 8am opening time and indicated that I can post my postcards when the post office opened. Luckily our train leaves at 8:20am so I had a bit of time to post my postcards after it opens.

As I was sitting there waiting, this Mongolian old man sitting opposite me started motioning at me and pointing at my postcards. Then he came over and took my postcards and looked at each one curiously as if he’s never seen a postcard before. WTF MAN!!!??? Does no one seriously use the postal service in this country!!??

Anyway, after I got my postcards back from the old man I went back to the post office, I gave the lady my postcards and she looked to make sure they had stamps and accepted them. WTF!!!??? Why is the postal process of manual here!?

image
Setting off on a dreary day.

image
Beijing here I come! … … … 😑😒

image
The Ulan Bator>Beijing train seem to be the least clean (especially the toilet!!! 😫) and the toilets have no toilet paper. Our roomies this time was a young Malaysian couple who’s been studying in Russia, cool people. 😎

image
In my opinion, I think this leg of the train offers the best views I have seen all Trans Siberia.

image
Land horizon, how many people can say they’ve seen one? 😄

image
Some kind of white gate in the distance.

image
Our train, whee~~~!

image
Nothing beats sticking your head out the window here.

image
Hello town! 🙋🙋🙋

image
Bye town!!! 🙋🙋🙋

image
Stopped at the Sainshand station. (Yes, I read the Cyrillic! 😂)

image
Guy on the left selling some great watercolours, too bad I’m out of money.

image
This town seriously looks like one of those Western cowboy towns from those John Wayne movies.

image
I don’t even know what she’s selling…

image
It’s like a ghost town.

image
Expecting a tumble weed to tumble across any second now.

image
Heaps of vendors but they sort of sell the same stuff.

image
I bought some chips and she was supposed to give me like ₮10 back but instead gave me 2 mentos gum as change. 😑 This is the first time I have ever received bartered change.

image
When the train reaches Chinese border, the train undergoes a change of wheels since the rails in China are wider than the ones used in Mongolia. The process takes about 3hrs, you have to stay on the train.

Leave a comment