Day 70: Beijing – Chinese Capital In One Night

Passing into China, the scenery becomes more green and mountainous. Seeing this scenery I can imagine how Chinese poets got inspired by the landscape here.

image
Mountains and fields.

image
Look!!! The Great Wall in the distance! I can finally say I’ve seen the Great Wall! 😂

image
Sometimes you can’t help but be impressed by Chinese infrastructure. Reminds me of that movie “2012” with Kevin Spacey in it. 😂

image
According to the train conductor, Beijing is surrounded by mountains on three sides and this part to the North has the best scenery.

image
Goats!!!

image
Some kind of really remote station.

image
Hey guys! Lol! 🙋🙋🙋

image
Chinese village.

image
Like a mirror reflection.

image
A more modern Chinese village.

image
Our train got delayed by over three hours for some reason so I only have the evening to spend here in Beijing.

image
Welcome to Beijing!

image
Ugh, so crowded. 😦

image
Dammit!!! Too many people! 😫

image
Wandering through the hutongs, we arrive at Li Qun Roast Duck. When in Peking… you know what I must do: eat Peking duck! 😂

image
The restaurant is quite busy, had to wait for seats even though we arrived at 7pm.

image
How the duck is roasted.

image
Ordered 2 people meal, the black drink is plum juice, so good I had 2 bottles. 😂

image
Mmmmmmmmmmm!!!! Peking duck!!! I’m so hungry as I type this! 😭

image
Yes, waaaay too much for two people.

image
After dinner, we wandered towards Tiananmen Square. Here’s people dancing as exercise I guess.

image
I didn’t realise you can’t actually enter the square at night, lame! 😑

image
Why aren’t people allowed in at night, they think students will start congregating here again or something???

image
They even have people standing guard! 😒

image
Monument to the People’s Heroes in front of the Great Hall of the People.

image
National Museum of China.

image
Tiananmen.

image
Standing guard in front of Mao.

image
“All hail the People’s Republic of China”, “People of the world unite banzai!” is what the sign says.

image
Ice block for only RMB$1! Tastes like bubble gum flavour.

image
Look at this housing agent ad infringing on Slam Dunk copywrite, which of course, doesn’t exist in China.

At night, I parted ways with Maria since she was staying in Beijing for another couple of nights while I’ll be flying to Hokkaido in the morning. It’s back to single traveling! 😭😭😭

image
View of Beijing Station from my hotel. (Not from my room, from a window in the corridor. 😂)

At around midnight, I noticed that I had made a mistake in my upcoming hotel reservations so I had to move the hotel nights around a bit but since I can’t use Google in China, I had great difficulty finding correct hotels, comparing location and prices, etc. In the end I ended up staying up until 4am until I got everything sorted out.

Leave a comment