Day 40: Budapest – Too Much to See, Too Little Time

With everything back on track after receiving all my stuff intact, I headed for a day trip to Budapest with significantly less weight on my shoulders (figuratively speaking, my luggage was still heavy as usual).

Budapest is the capital of Hungary and although it is part of the Schengen Area so no border crossing procedure is required, they have their own currency called Hungarian Forint, €1 = ~ 300 Ft.

image
Budapest is a 3hrs train ride from Vienna, the train will stop at Budapest-Keleti Railway Terminal.

image
First things first: Get me self some Hungarian Forint! DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT change money at the train station. I walked out of the station about 5mins and found WAY better exchange rates, the station was selling at about €1:2.5 Ft but 5mins walk away and they sell at €1:3 Ft.

image
The famous Budapest tram… which I’ll not be taking because I’m generally bad with trams, I don’t even know how to take trams in HK, lol!

image
So I’ll be taking what I’m good at taking, the metro! Budapest metro also happens to be the second oldest metro system in the world apparently.

image
So you had to buy a ticket from the previous machine and validate the ticket just like in Vienna before yoi board, and they DO check tickets rigorously here, so don’t try to cheat the system! And I dunno what the numbers on the ticket means, looks like a sudoku, lol.

image
Don’t trust the metro station announcements, I got off one station later because of a lag between the announcements and the actual station, but otherwise the metro is easy enough to work around.

image
I got off at the wrong station, but I went out anyway, and I was smacked in the face with the towering Országház (Hungarian Parliament Building) as I exited the station. I stood there with my mounth gaping for about a minute before I came to grips with the amazing architecture.

image
Arrived just in time in front of the Parliament building to hear some military music, then there was some ceremony where the guards sort of do this marching dance thing, you can see a bit of it here until I can figure out how to load videos to WordPress, lol. I can’t seem to find any information about this ceremony online but I think I arrived around 12:00pm to witness it.

image
The architecture surrounding the Parliament building is awesome, the buildings are not that tall, but still you fell so small.

image
They have guards standing under the flagpole guarding the flag.

image
And they actually move around every once in a while, much to the surprise of these tourists who were posing in front of them thinking they don’t move, lol.

image
I don’t know what they are doing here, some kind of pipe maintenance that lets out mists??? It was definitely not a show they put on, lol.

image
The Parliament building is the biggest building in Hungary, it’s futile trying to fit the whole building in one photo.

image
The Parliament building is surrounded by huge statues everywhere.

image
The Néprajzi Múzeum (Ethnographic Museum), wish I had time to go in…

image
More huge statues… Btw the Hungarians love their Aslans/Mufasas/Simbas.

image
Finally I can fit one of the facades of the Parliament building in one shot!

image
Around the Parliament building and along the River Danube.

image
Someone’s tiny toy sailboat.

image
Budavári Palota (Buda Castle) just across the river.

image
Across the river you can also see the Castle District at the top and the Calvinist Church just under along the river bank.

image
Shoes on the Danube Bank, according to Wikipedia, it’s an “honor the Jews who were killed by fascist Arrow Cross militiamen in Budapest during World War II. They were ordered to take off their shoes, and were shot at the edge of the water so that their bodies fell into the river and were carried away. It represents their shoes left behind on the bank.” Being the ignorant person that I am, I didn’t realise there were assholes apart from Hitler in WWII. Apparently, the Arrow Cross killed 10,000~15,000 civilians during their 5 month rule of Hungary. 😱😱😱

image
Closing in on Buda Castle, but turned left to check out Pest first (Budapest is split into Buda and Pest district by the River Danube).

image
Szent István-bazilika (St. Stephen’s Basilica).

image
Stunning dome inside.

image
Interior of the basilica.

image
Keyluminati stained glass.

image
The stained glass style is quite different from the ones I’ve seen before, this looks like some hippie mural from the 70’s, lol.

image
Erzsébet tér (Erzsébet Square), with it’s ferris wheel.

image
Walking across Széchenyi lánchíd (Széchenyi Chain Bridge).

image
After staring at it for so long, time to head to Buda Castle!

image
The funicular that takes you up to the Castle if you’re feeling too lazy to walk up (or time constrained like me). Btw, I bought a return ticket, but I didn’t take the return trip back down because it’s an easy walk from the castle district amd the metro station is closer to that area anyway.

image
I don’t know what this building is, it’s right next to the funicular statiom when you get off at the top. There’s two Hungarian soldiers guarding it.

image
Basically Buda Castle is one giant museum, including the Hungarian National Gallery, Budapest History Museum and National Széchényi Library.

image
Even if you don’t go into the museums, don’t forget to walk around it to see a great panoramic view of Budapest.

image
Here is a non-panoramic view with more detail.

image
Goulash is a famous dish of Hungary, unfortunately every time I spotted a restaurant with signs of goulash as hordes of tourists walking in, so I settled for this place with goulash soup, which is pretty good!

image
Walking north along the Castle District. I don’t even know what this fountain is, but it’s so elaborate.

image
More elaborate statues of people on horses.

image
Some kind of medieval game stand involving javelin throwing. Nope, didn’t see any on target, lol.

image
Once again, I don’t know what this is. 😂 Some kind of ruins???

image
Hungarian flags, Hungarian flags everywhere.

image
Mátyás-templom (Matthias Church) with its colourful roof tiles.

image
I thought this was just going to turn out to be another church but…

image
It was SO AMAZING inside. I just stood in awe of the colourful patterns and decorations surrounding me in the walls and ceilings.

image
I’m so sorry, my amateur photography skills just could not give justice to the beautifully colourful decorated walls and ceilings.

image
So apparently the latest restoration to this church was only finished in 2013, which explains why the decorations are in such perfect condition.

image
A random lamb stained glass.

image
Every inch of the church is covered by decorations.

image
Of course there is no shortage on stained glass either. (I’ve changed the white balance setting on my camera in case you haven’t noticed, but it still doesn’t do justice to the colours in this place)

image
Back of the church.

image
Front of the church.

image
A close up of one of the pillars just to show you some of the patterns and colours.

image
Some really old stone relic.

image
Even the floor is covered by colourful tiles.

image
I was seriously VERY IMPRESSED by this church, and I’m not easily impressed after visiting so many churches.

image
Love this archway and the angels.

image
Close-up of one of the wall patterns.

image
Another pillar with a different pattern.

image
The right foot of St. John… 😟

image
Don’t miss out on going up one floor to check out the church on higher grounds!

image
Close-up of the altarpiece and stained glass.

image
A vase in the same theme as the church.

image
Outside Matthias Church is the Trinity Square, which in itself is a beautiful area of stunning architecture.

image
If you head a bit north, just past the entrance to the Hilton Hotel, there’s this cafe where everybody’s taking pictures and you can get a great panoramic view of Budapest for FREE.

image
Parliament building, awesome even from afar.

image
If you want to go up to the top turrets of Fisherman’s Bastion, it’s 700 Ft, it’s not too much and you do get a great view of not only Budapest but of Matthias Church as well.

image
View from inside one of the turrets.

image
Panoramic view of Budapest.

image
You do get the Calvinist Church in the way if you look from the paid turrets however.

image
You can see the turret with the cafe that I mentioned earlier, whete the crowd is.

image
Walkimg back down towards River Danube.

image
One last look at the Parliament building, I SHALL BE BACK! *Waves fist*

image
Decided I HAD to have Käsekrainer one last time before I left Vienna so I went back to the first stand which was so delicious, but it was this lady this time and she was so busy chatting to another customer she didn’t toast my hot dog bun properly so it wasn’t as nice as the first time… 😦 (but still good)

Leave a comment