Day 31: Gent – A Sweet Hipster Belgian Town

Waving goodbye to London, I head East, to Belgium. I had booked the Eurostar taking a train to Brussels where I’ll be spending the day in Gent before heading to Bruges in the evening (where I’m staying). I had arrived at the station 30mins prior tp my departure time, THIS WAS NOT ENOUGH. I knew I was in trouble when I showed my train ticket to the attendant and she was like: “Oh my! You’d better hurry!” As soon as I went into the departures I knew I was f*cked. There was a huge line snaking around with half of the people school kids. And that was just the line to get through the security checks. Then there was the customs. I don’t understand why Scotland>Dublin you need to go through the customs but Dublin>London you don’t!? And now I have to go through customs in this winding line of people with 10mins until my train, GAH! Luckily with 5mins to go this train attendant shouted to see if anyone was on the Brussels train and
the lady in front of me was on the same train I was, so we both cut through the line of people (and their death glares) and made it to the front to quickly get out passports stamped. WHEW!

Anyway, Belgium has 3 official languages: Dutch, French and German (and I thought Switzerland was confusing!) and the parts I will be going to are all Dutch, and I speak ABSOLUTELY NO DUTCH, luckily I have my trusty Google Translate Dutch package downloaded to use offline. 👍

image
Arrived at Brussels and bought a train ticket to Bruges stopping over at Gent Sint Pieters station. (Loll! @ the dad on the left!! 😂😂😂)

image
There’s like a train every half an hour, even if the train doesn’t END in Gent Sint Pieters, look out for the ones that stop there because the sign might just show the stations that they end in at the main signage place. Oh yeah, everything is in Dutch and there are no English signs ANYWHERE. Ask some friendly locals if you get lost. 😉

image
After arriving at Gent and stashing my luggage away at a paid locker in the station, I headed off to take a tram towards the city center. You can buy the tram ticket that allows you to take the tram anywhere within 1hr for €3, unfortunately I did not have change and was forced to buy this delicious thick chocolatey drink… Mmmmm… *drools* So good…

image
As I mentioned before there are NO SIGNS NO DIRECTIONS in English, so I had to stare at this tram map in Dutch and guess. I GUESS this tram goes to city center… Since there are most people waiting. 😂 Then I asked a local just to be sure.

image
I didn’t know where to get off then I saw this castle and decided to get off. 😂

image
Apparently this is the Gravensteen, which means “castle of the counts” in Dutch.

image
Built in the 12th century, the middle ages. I’m getting better at history!

image
Every castle must have a collection of armour, it’s the LAW. 😂

image
This castle is the first one that looks EXACTLY what I imagined castles to look like before I came to Europe.

image
Excellent view of Gent from above.

image
Pew pew pew! Eat arrowheads!

image
The blade of this guillotine is original… UGH. 😱

image
You can just imagine a beautiful maiden playing this harp. ☺

image
Oww… Just looking at these pictures HURT. 😫

image
Okay, forget the Museum of Ancient Torture Devices in Toledo, this place trumps every other torture museums I’ve been to. How can they put a lifelike mannequin to display torture devices without warnings of viewers’ discretion? 😱

image
Wow… The ultimate wedgie.

image
The chapel of the castle I assume.

image
The higher up, the better the view gets!

image
Wow, such Belgium.

image
Top of the castle.

image
Taking a walk along the castle walls.

image
Castle courtyard.

image
Standing tall and proud.

image
Little kiddied group running into the castle dressed as knights and princesses. 😂

image
The Gravensteen is located next to one of the many canals of Gent.

image
A very Belgium plaza just outside of Gravensteen.

image
I wonder who climbed all the way up there to give the lion a dunce hat!? 😂

image
Ghent is a university town and houses a large population of students, so you do see a lot if hipster young people around, but it doesn’t change the fact that it’s a typical picturesque little Belgian town. ☺

image
I came all the way here for Ghent candy but it was closed, lame.

image
This area called Graslei and Korenlei is probably the most iconic image of Ghent.

image
All those awesome houses just sitting in a row along the canal. This place is beautiful at night, too bad I won’t be staying here, next time…

image
Had time to spare so jumped on a random canal cruise.

image
The houses look like a wall of cookie tins. 😂

image
Riding past some awesome architecture.

image
I did not choose this cruise because the boat guy was good looking. *shifty eyes*

image
The have gondolas just like Venice, apparently these come from Bangladesh, but I haven’t seen any in use on the canals…

image
Hi Gravensteen again! 👋

image
The boat guy turned off the engine for a moment to let us enjoy the peacefulness of floating down the canal. Nice.

image
The gas mask angel coming down to smite all ye who fart too much.

image
There are turtle living in the canals!

image
Panoramic Ghent canal.

image
Ghent street view #1.

image
When you think of Belgium, apart from chocolate you think of waffles. This place has been making waffles since 1839, so time to test out their waffles!

image
Had a hot chocolate, it was good but was finished after two sips. 😐

image
The crust is so thin but crispy and the inside of the waffle is the most light and fluffy waffle I have ever tasted. 👍

image
Ghent street view #2.

image
Next, I shall climb this Belfort! (By lift!)

image
Displays inside the Belfort.

image
In Belgium, bells don’t just ring, they ring to a melody, as controlled by this device here. Almost like a music box.

image
Too bad that tower’s under construction, otherwise it would’ve been a great view.

image
As you can see there’s not much room to walk around in the tower and two people cannot pass each other, unless you want to spoon someone or get spooned.

image
Great view of Ghent #1.

image
Great view of Ghent #2.

image
A display of bells.

image
This must be to Quasimodo as a kid in a candy store.

image
I don’t even know what this is (all the signs are in Dutch), I assume the one in the light is original and the other ones are just remakes according to the cracks.

image
Apparently Australian ive creams are a thing!? Since when??

image
Ghent street view #3.

image
Ghent street view #4.

image
Ghent street view #5. I’m feeling lazy okay!? 😂

image
Back to my favourite spot.

image
…For DINNERRRR. Waterzooi is a Ghent dish which is like a thin creamy stew of chicken or fish. Btw the view was great but it was so windy my spoon blew away. Still don’t understand why Europeans like to sit outside…

image
One last panorama of this awesome place.

image
Actually Gent Sint Pieters is a pretty nice station too, but it was all construction in front when I was there.

image
The main hall of Gent Sint Pieters.

image
Cool art on the walls.

image
Even cooler art on the ceilings.

image
And then I arrive at Bruged which looks like a bomb shelter. 😂

image
Stayed at an ibis, great cheap rates and big clean rooms, but the bathroom is so open! Perfect if you are traveling alone. 😂

Leave a comment