Day 32: Bruges – A Ride to Remember

Staying next to the Bruges train station, it’s a short walk through Minnewaterpark to the center of Bruges.

image
Green, green everywhere.

image
Gentle river runs through the GREEN.

image
I don’t know any park greener than this one actually.

image
Horse drawn carriages to take you back in time… if you don’t mind the smell.

image
The living quarters of the swans. Read the story on why Bruges has so many swans here, not because they are beautiful or anything.

image
“Save water! Drink Belgian beer!” Nice slogan, but if beer isn’t made of water, what is it made of? 😂

image
Belgium is apparently famous for chips, and they are thick and crunchy but I actually prefer soggy thin chips. 😂😂😂 Anyway had bacon and cheese omelet with chips, ordered this because they just opened and I can see no chips has been fried yet and they will be fresh. And all the while these American tourists are ordering waffles that are obviously reheated, n00bs.

image
Bruges canal view #1.

image
Bruges canal view #2.

image
Aww… baby swans! What are they called again, cygnets?

image
My favourite non-manga comic, Tintin! Wanted to buy a T-shirt, but they were expensive and uninteresting.

image
Apparently Bruges is famous for lace, most of the shops sell stuff from Taobao now, but a few still sell locally handcrafted stuff. Oh yeah, and there’s a creepy old lady looking down at you from above.

image
The iconic Markt (Market Square) of Bruges.

image
And there’s the Belfort (Belfry of Bruges), I was gonna go up but it was closed by the time I came back. 😥

image
The first stop is to rent a bicycle! Bruges is a very bicycle friendly city (although the cobblestone can be a bit of a pain in the arse… literally.), renting a bike for the whole day costs €10 and you can keep the bike until their closing time at 8pm. I believe this shop is slightly cheaper than the other ones around town (about €12/day) and the owner will give you a map and kindly show you the recommended cycling routes!

image
I have my bike, but I need to make an important stop first.

image
At the chocolate museum! 👏👏👏 (Yes, that is a giant chocolate egg that even I can fit inside comfortably.)

image
Entry ticket even comes with a bar of chocolate, and it was delicious!!

image
Look at this cute little cocoa bank, since they used to use cocoa beans as currency in South America, this was used as a bank to store the cocoa beans.

image
The usual chocolate story: South Americans were first to use cocoa beans as a drink>the Spanish brought it over to Europe>the French made it popular>how it is made commercially now.

image
Biscuit and chocolate tins with pictures of Belgium’s royal family on it. I didn’t even know Belgium has a royal family…

image
Damn, now I’ll have to eat more chocolate everyday to maintain good oral hygiene.

image
All kinds of chocolate sculptures! Amazing!

image
Look at this hot guy showing you how to make chocolate. It’s official! Belgium RULES at chocolate!

image
Chocolate made by the hot guy, but was disappointed to find it had hazelnut filling… Why is all the chocolate in Europe filled with hazelnut??

image
For an extra €2.50, you can buy a coupon from the chocolate museum when you buy your entry ticket for a hot chocolate in the Choco Jungle cafe. And this, is THE BEST hot chocolate I have ever had. I saw him drop two or three chocobuds into the cup before putting in frothy hot milk. Then this chocolate on a stick, stir and let the magic happen.

image
Soooo creamy, soooop chocolatey, not too sweet, just the way I like it. I NEED TO FIND OUT HOW TO MAKE THIS AT HOME.

image
As I said before, chips are a thing in Belgium, here’s a chips museum. I should’ve gone in just to see what they had to display except like… potatoes and oil.

image
Anyway, time to burn off that chocolate!!!

image
Under the recommendation of the bike shop owner, I will be riding to a little town up North called Damme, it’s just 30mins ride and the ride there is JUST AMAZING.

image
Riding through these trees and fields is THE BEST FEELING IN THE WORLD.

image
A really long stretch of trees lining the path. I URGE those who don’t know how to ride a bike to learn because this is the most awesome thing to do in Bruges.

image
And the path eventually opens up to a windmill, how cute!

image
Classic windmill+bike shot.

image
Oh! So I’ve reached Damme already.

image
Let me park my bike and take a look around.

image
To be honest, there’s not much to see in Damme, most of the shops seem to be closed for some reason. I did see a tour bus unload but I don’t know what they are here to see… A toilet stop maybe?

image
Well, there’s at least ONE thing worth seeing: Our Lady of Damme, quite a large church for such a small town.

image
The interior of the church is quite impressive, feels very church-y. 👼

image
Heading back now, past another grassy meadow.

image
Moo~~~🐮🐄

image
A more wild version of the path we took before.

image
Ouu! Waiting for the draw bridge, hiw exciting! 😄 … 😀 … 😗 … 😌 … 😐 … 😟 … 😒 HURRY UP!!!

image
Oh, and we’re back to Bruges. This time one the side with the windmills.

image
Went inside of the windmill.

image
Watch out your head doesn’t get crushed by the giant cog wheels.

image
There’s basically a series of windmills that just run along the canal in the north part of Bruges. This was taken from the first windmill I just went into.

image
And back to the main part of Bruges. You know what that means? Cobblestones and pain im the arse again.

image
City Hall in Burg Square.

image
Bruges canal view #3.

image
CHEESE!!! *presses face against window breathing deeply*

While trying to find the church designed by Michelangelo the bike shop owner had told me about, I wandered into this other church. I can’t even find the English name for it, but on Googlemaps it’s called Kerkfabriek Heilige Maria – Magdalena En Heilige Catharina, lol. And I was amazed the moment I walked in the door.

image
What is this? Some kind of contemporary art mixed with religion!?

image
This was in one of the side rooms and when I went in there was this creepy teenager who asked me to take a photo of him behimd the feathers. Then he stood there looking at me with no expression while I take the picture.

image
Why is there a pool in the middle of the church!? And why aren’t there more pools like this in other churches? The stained glass looks so pretty reflected on the water… 😍

image
And what’s this frame for!? To “frame” Jesus or something?? (No pun intended)

image
Btw, this is what the church looks like from outside. And you know what else is awesome about this church? It’s almost empty inside! So no other tourists blocking your photo, haha.

image
This is actually the most iconic view of Bruges, unfortunately it is best to take pictures durimg early morning or evening when there are no motor boats messing with the river.

image
Bruges local beer with Flemming stew, delicious! 😋

image
The Markt (Market Square), check out panoramic video of this place here.

image
Damn Belfort (Belfry of Bruges), it’s too goddamn high!

image
Bruges City Hall.

image
Bruges confectionery.

image
Brought a random chocolate key, they have chocolate bolts and chocolate toolkits as well.

image
This is actually a chocolate store!

image
If I wasn’t still on the road, I’d buy this whole display cabinet.

image
The only Godiva I have seen in Belgium.

image
And they sell strawberries dipped in chocolate lile popcorns!

image
Belgian street waffle, GOOD. 👍👍👍

image
Bruges canal view #4.

image
Bruges canal view #5. As yoi can see, the city is much prettier when the motor boats have finished their working hours.

image
Bruges swan.

image
White swan feather… I feel like Rinoa from FFVIII! 😂

image
This is back close to Minnewaterpark.

image
Back through Minneswaterpark.

image
How??? I want to! 😭

image
Bruges train statiom is really nothing special to look at, haha.

Leave a comment